Book prints – May 2015 – Lord of the flies by William Golding 

I bought the book about a year ago. I tried reading it back then, but stopped after a few pages. This time too, as I started it, I stopped. 

For one, the opening conversations baffled me; I did not know who was talking when. And please don’t brush it off – all I do in life is read. I promise. Secondly, there was way too much detail thrown in every line – too much to take in. 

[[ This latter complaint’s reason is why humans these days spend hours on Elite daily and godforsaken stuff rather than reading good things that matter]]

  
 I began thinking how over rated (is it one word?) the book was. It also helped that some website had said the samething a long time ago. I posted on Facebook about the book being overrated – and got a few replies stating the books many merits. I chastised myself at that moment – I don’t usually pass comments on books, no openly negative ones at any rate, so why the sudden show of unnecessary criticism? I vowed to change my attitude and read on. 

I’m so very glad I did that. This is what I penned down in my journal: 

“Amongst other qualities I’m sure I’m forgetting, the one that compelled me to leave the book midway to pen this down is – the transition and portrayal of human character and behaviour. How, as the story unfolds and time passes, a little more depth is shed into each character. How some amount of sinister-ness is present in everyone, sometimes (most times) innately. How the good thoughts and natural instincts come more easily to some. How as time passes bonds sworn on and forged instantly break apart nonchalantly for new unimaginable ones. How some chose good and positivity instinctively and vice a versa. How we are just so different, all of us, and it is so undefinable, that high walls being built due to indifferences in opinion though unacknowleged (Read: Diplomacy) is nevertheless present. 

Basically, I connect to it because it encompasses human nature and bonds and relationships as I see in my everyday life in varied contexts. So very clearly. 

It is beautifully crafted. This book is not merely writing and words – it’s art. ” 

After this I continued to read and penned this into my journal after completing the novel: 

“It is depressingly human. 

Stripped out bare” 

I’m still caught up in the aftermath of a strong book but here are my favourite lines: 

“Ralph and Jack looked at each other while society paused about them” 

“He wanted to explain how people were never quite what you thought they were” 

“They walked along, two continents of experience and feeling, unable to communicate” 

“But otherwise they seldom bothered with big und and their passionately emotional and corporate life was their own” 

“He became absorbed beyond mere happiness as he felt himself exercising control over living things. He talked to them, urging them, ordering them. Driven back by the tide, his footprints became bays in which they were trapped and gave him the illusion of mastery”

“Later perhaps, practised debators – Jack, Maurice, Piggy – would use their whole art to twist the meeting ..” 

“.. If you’re scared of someone you hate him but you can’t stop thinking about him…”

“Ralph walked in the rear, thankful to have escaped responsibility for a time”

“Ralph wept for the end of innocence, darkness of mans heart..”
Cheers

AK

Leave a Reply

