I wish I’d studied all this toooooo!!

Things I wish my education system offered: (as a mandate – Ill try explaining this necessity)

1. Cooking classes.

No, I’m serious. Some institutes have it. Instead of people around me forever hinting to the marriage and dutiful bahu notions, if they had just said beta you love food too much. Suppose you don’t have people to cook good food for you sometime? And you don’t have money to buy good food, or worse, food you feel like having at THAT MOMENT?
(I wish people remember how they thought as kids. It’s easy to deal with stubborn kids then. Like me. Sigh)

2. Music.

Not limiting to Carnatic music and Hindustani. And Carrolls and etcetera.
I’m still stunted musically:(
There’s no harm in exposing children to all music forms. Then I would have gone through my formative years accepting some and rejecting others. At least it wouldn’t have taken me 22 damn years to realise I love listening to Mozart. Look at me attempting to show off – it’s a recent thing. Does marvels for my concentration and calms my mind.

3. Reading.

Shocking isn’t it, I mean this is the only thing I know and here I am wishing my school years did it more justice. That’s because – my reading choices and interests are something I cultivated during non school hours. I wish we had mandatory Bhagavad Gita, Bible, Kuran, Dostoyevsky, Stephen Hawking and other formative texts – there, don’t make faces. When we were kids we wouldn’t have realised we had to act cool and not prefer reading, much rather such “serious” texts. And once read and understood one can accept or reject it.

4. Meditation and Breathing.

I used to think spirituality, and “all these” were for old people and never understood why people did it. I couldn’t even observe those 2 minute silences during assembly hours.Shit. I’m glad many many schools and societies get children to enrol in these activities these days. We all will have that moment when it hits us deep – it might happen today or next year or the day before we die – but when that day comes we will moan on our lack of understanding in this realm.

5. Thinking

Boy, don’t even get me started. Each one thinks in a different way, and some don’t even bother thinking. Thinking encompasses different aspects – emotional, intellectual, ethical, societal etc.

For example – going out with the cool stud in school when you are 11 years old and posting ‘I love yous’ and pictures all over social media – or wait – thinking PK defames religious ideas – oh wait – thinking you can rape a man or a woman- oh wait – woman related to you shouldn’t wear revealing clothes – oh wait – you are a girl you look after at home, I’ll earn cuz I’m the man of the family- – – you get the idea right? Maturity. Attitude.

6. How to learn.

Yours truly – the Crammer. I try to understand, be it literature or engineering. I really do. But cuz it’s a day before the assignment submission or presentation or the final exam – cramming is easier. Cramming is how I was taught to study in school. When you turn 22 and realise your head is filled enough and your mind doesn’t allow any more cramming cuz it doesn’t remember what it crammed yesterday even – you wish someone taught you what learning was.

7. Money.

I do not want to be a commerce student to know about money. I don’t want to grow up not thinking much about it and falling on my butt when I start paying rent, food money, the electricity bill, yaba daba doo. Ie like I am right now. I have many smart friends who were born with that intuition of managing money and investing and talk about it like was cakewalk. Not for me, nope.

BE WARNED. This is a lunatic point and I don’t think I want schools teaching this for real.
Sigh here goes –

7. How to look after one self.

When I was a kid, in this one school, there was sewing class. I walked to it actually pumped up about sewing in buttons. Lol. What put me off this track? My guy friends were told by the smiley faced teacher that they could go for Physical Education instead. Gender bias puts me off. A lot.

Coming back on track – how to mend a dress tear, how to clean up, which oil to use for which dish, which herb to use instead of the plethora of antibiotics, which household items to use.. The list is endless.

8. Appreciation.
Hey your dress is nice! Doesn’t quite cut it. Criticism seems to be the raging fad in social media and work places. Not saying there’s no appreciation – just saying it’s far too less, and mostly used manipulatively.

8. Nurturing Talents.

I wish we were a country that let writers write, singers sing, sportsmen play, dancers do music justice – without expecting them to be engineers or management grads. To a certain extent it’s allowed and yes, due to the sheer number of talents many have got to find a side job to support themselves. I understand the point, but still dream of a day when they didn’t have to do something else. I didn’t have to something else.
How cool it’d be to meet an Engineer who loves engineering. *3 Idiots style sigh*

9. Loving oneself.

This one is the most important one. Not done enough could lead to social issues. Overdone could lead to lifelong prick issues.
But really, enjoying being with oneself opens such doors!

10. Decision making.

Sounds silly right. This doesn’t really involve only career counselling. Different question such as will that colour suit me – is this the subject I like – do I want to be such a persons friend – certain inner assessments need to be given heed to. For some, even more.
But as my friend V says, this is something one learns as life progresses, can’t be taught as a class!
Point.
Hey FYI I do NOT mean the conventional classroom setting for any of these ‘classes’. Imagine ‘Wake up Sid’ like ambience. There. *Perfection*

I bet there are many places encompassing the above mentioned points and much more. This post is to say I didn’t enjoy all that.
My sister adds this – schools must add activities that break cliques and groupism. That’s a valid and extremely strong point, especially these days in schools. Back in school I’m not aware of feeling too strongly about it but these days the story is quite different.

Any other points missed? Please do leave your comments below.
Cheers and have a great day.

Boy, don’t even get me started. Each one thinks in a different way, and some don’t even bother thinking. Thinking encompasses different aspects – emotional, intellectual, ethical, societal etc.

For example – going out with the cool stud in school when you are 11 years old and posting ‘I love yous’ and pictures all over social media – or wait – thinking PK defames religious ideas – oh wait – thinking you can rape a man or a woman- oh wait – woman related to you shouldn’t wear revealing clothes – oh wait – you are a girl you look after at home, I’ll earn cuz I’m the man of the family- – – you get the idea right? Maturity. Attitude.

6. How to learn.

Yours truly – the Crammer. I try to understand, be it literature or engineering. I really do. But cuz it’s a day before the assignment submission or presentation or the final exam – cramming is easier. Cramming is how I was taught to study in school. When you turn 22 and realise your head is filled enough and your mind doesn’t allow any more cramming cuz it doesn’t remember what it crammed yesterday even – you wish someone taught you what learning was.

7. Money.

I do not want to be a commerce student to know about money. I don’t want to grow up not thinking much about it and falling on my butt when I start paying rent, food money, the electricity bill, yaba daba doo. Ie like I am right now. I have many smart friends who were born with that intuition of managing money and investing and talk about it like was cakewalk. Not for me, nope.

BE WARNED. This is a lunatic point and I don’t think I want schools teaching this for real.
Sigh here goes –

7. How to look after one self.

When I was a kid, in this one school, there was sewing class. I walked to it actually pumped up about sewing in buttons. Lol. What put me off this track? My guy friends were told by the smiley faced teacher that they could go for Physical Education instead. Gender bias puts me off. A lot.

Coming back on track – how to mend a dress tear, how to clean up, which oil to use for which dish, which herb to use instead of the plethora of antibiotics, which household items to use.. The list is endless.

8. Appreciation.
Hey your dress is nice! Doesn’t quite cut it. Criticism seems to be the raging fad in social media and work places. Not saying there’s no appreciation – just saying it’s far too less, and mostly used manipulatively.

8. Nurturing Talents.

I wish we were a country that let writers write, singers sing, sportsmen play, dancers do music justice – without expecting them to be engineers or management grads. To a certain extent it’s allowed and yes, due to the sheer number of talents many have got to find a side job to support themselves. I understand the point, but still dream of a day when they didn’t have to do something else. I didn’t have to something else.
How cool it’d be to meet an Engineer who loves engineering. *3 Idiots style sigh*

9. Loving oneself.

This one is the most important one. Not done enough could lead to social issues. Overdone could lead to lifelong prick issues.
But really, enjoying being with oneself opens such doors!

10. Decision making.

Sounds silly right. This doesn’t really involve only career counselling. Different question such as will that colour suit me – is this the subject I like – do I want to be such a persons friend – certain inner assessments need to be given heed to. For some, even more.
But as my friend V says, this is something one learns as life progresses, can’t be taught as a class!
Point.
Hey FYI I do NOT mean the conventional classroom setting for any of these ‘classes’. Imagine ‘Wake up Sid’ like ambience. There. *Perfection*

I bet there are many places encompassing the above mentioned points and much more. This post is to say I didn’t enjoy all that.

My sister adds this – schools must add activities that break cliques and groupism. That’s a valid and extremely strong point, especially these days in schools. Back in school I’m not aware of feeling too strongly about it but these days the story is quite different.

Any other points missed? Please do leave your comments below.
Cheers and have a great day.

AK
A.K.A. Chatterboxerr

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/e50/42290326/files/2015/01/img_0414.png

Leave a Reply

